Recognized title and two certificates in administration, economics, law or actuarial science + two years of experience

You qualify for Category IV academic equivalency if you have a recognized title, 2 years of experience (within the last 5 years) in Canada in at least one of the 7 personal financial planning areas and 2 certificates in administration, economics, law or actuarial science (each comprised of a minimum of 450 course-hours at the university level).

Here is the list of recognized titles:

  • Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU)
  • Securities fellow
  • Canadian Investment Manager (CIM)
  • Financial Risk Manager (FRM)
  • Certified Financial Planner (CFP)
  • Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
  • Conseiller en investissements financiers (financial investment consultant or CIF in France)
  • Associate of the Society of Actuaries (ASA)
  • Fellow of the Society of Actuaries (FSA)

If you meet these requirements, to become a financial planner, you have to pass the IQPF equivalency exam. This exam is given at a date agreed by the IQPF and the applicant. It is made up of multiple-choice questions divided up between the financial planning areas. To pass the exam, you must achieve a grade of at least 70% in each area. The price of the exam is $1,150 plus tax (prices may change without notice).

If you do not achieve a passing grade in every tested area, you will have to complete the IQPF Executive Program or a university course for each area you failed before you can go any further.

Once you have completed this step, you will have to take the IQPF Professional Training Course and pass the IQPF exam (4 hours).

Finally, to be able to use the financial planner title, you will have to obtain a representative’s certificate from the Autorité des marchés financiers.

Download the academic equivalency application form.